Public Records Request

Public Records and records retention schedules are outlined in Ohio Public Records Act 149.43. This topic is also discussed in detail in the Ohio Sunshine Laws, which is updated by the Ohio Attorney General’s Office.

Person’s Rights & Public Office’s Responsibilities
  • Prompt inspection of public records
  • Upon request, copies of public records will be provided within a reasonable time
  • Upon request, receiving copies of records by mail
  • Receiving copies in the medium specified, so long as it is available in the public office’s normal business operations
Exempt Public Records
Some items are specifically listed as exemptions from the Public Records Act. These include the following:
  • Catch All Exception (Confidential Records) Include:
    • Attorney-client privileged information
    • Child Abuse Reports
    • Student education records
    • “Judicial Mental Process”
    • Peace Officers Home Addresses
    • Ohio Ethics Commission Proceedings
    • Taxpayer records
    • Estate Tax Returns
    • Federal Tax Returns
    • Criminal Backgrounds
    • Records that have been sealed pursuant to court order
    • Trade Secrets
    • Social Security Numbers
    • Mediation Communications
  • Medical Records
  • Trial Preparation Records
  • Confidential Law Enforcement Investigatory Records
  • Other Exceptions include:
    • Abortion Records
    • Adoption Records
    • Putative Father Records
    • Civil Rights Commission Records
    • DNA Database Records
    • Rehabilitation and Correction Youth Services Records
    • Intellectual Property Records
    • Donor Profile Records
    • Department of Human Services Records
    • Peace Officer Information
    • County Hospital’s Trade Secrets
  • We will provide public records to the public as requested but will not normally provide information for purely commercial interests.
Obtaining a Public Record
The Police Clerks at the Harrison Police Department work Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to midnight. During those hours, you can request a copy of a public record from them in person or send a request with a self-addressed stamped envelope to our address.

To process your request, the clerk will need some information from you, including your name, the date and the type of records request (i.e. Police Incident Report, Accident Report etc.). The Clerk will then locate your record, and copy it for you.

We only charge the actual cost for us to reproduce the record in the medium requested. For instance, if the report is only a few printed pages there is normally not a fee. However, larger reports are $0.10 a page. If a photo or tape is requested we will charge whatever our actual costs are for those items.

Process Length
For printed reports, the entire process, from the time you walk in the door, to the time you leave with your copy unless things are busy, will normally only take 10-15 minutes. However, if you are requesting a copy of a large report or a report older than 5 years, it will take longer. Records older than 5 years are kept in a record holding area. Other mediums including photos and recordings will take longer to process.

We will be happy to comply with all public records requests. Keep in mind however, that some records are exempt from release and there may be times that we need to first obtain guidance from our City Law Director prior to releasing information if there is some question as to whether or not the information is releasable.

If you have any questions, please call us at 513-367-3715.